Elon Musk’s SpaceX capsule splashes down off Florida coast

News

FILE PHOTO: The SpaceX Crew Dragon capsule approaches the International Space Station March 3, 2019. NASA/Handout via REUTERS

CAPE CANAVERAL, Fla (Reuters) – An unmanned capsule from Elon Musk’s SpaceX splashed down into the Atlantic Ocean on Friday morning after a short-term stay on the International Space Station, capping the first orbital test mission in NASA’s long-delayed quest to resume human space flight from U.S. soil later this year.

After a five-day mission on the orbital outpost, Crew Dragon autonomously detached about 2:30 a.m EST (0730 GMT) on Friday and sped back to earth reaching hypersonic speeds before an 8:45 a.m. EST (1345 GMT) splash-down in the Atlantic, about 200 miles off the Florida coast.

A SpaceX rocket launched the 16-foot-tall capsule from the Kennedy Space Center in Florida last Saturday.

The first-of-its-kind mission, ahead of SpaceX’s crewed test flight slated for June, brought 400 pounds of test equipment to the space station, including a dummy named Ripley, outfitted with sensors around its head, neck, and spine to monitor how a flight would feel for a human.

The space station’s three-member crew greeted the capsule last Sunday, with U.S. astronaut Anne McClain and Canadian astronaut David Saint-Jacques entering Crew Dragon’s cabin to carry out air quality tests and inspections.

Reporting by Joey Roulette; Editing by Jeffrey Benkoe

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

For These Tiny Tropical Fish, Unconventional Style Key To Courting A Mate
‘Groundbreaking’ sharp images of distant planetary system show 3 planets are missing
Exploring The Link Between Inflammation And Depression: Study Suggests Women Are Affected The Most
Climate breakdown could send crabs and octopuses blind
Suppliers hope to tap into growing space market

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *